Gaunce and Subban to represent OHL in Subway Super Series

Oct 23, 2012 - 07:00 EDT
Written By: Sweetland, Josh

Hockey Canada announced Tuesday morning that a pair of Belleville Bulls will be representing the Ontario Hockey League when it squares off with the Russian National Junior Team on November 8th in Guelph.

Both Malcolm Subban and Brendan Gaunce will suit up for Team OHL in a pair of games that provide players with considerable exposure in advance of selections for Canada's National Junior Team just prior to the holiday season.

After performing well over the summer in the Canada/Russia Challenge going 2-0 with a 1.95 goals against average and a .918 save percentage, Subban is on Hockey Canada's shortlist of goaltenders to watch for the World Junior Championships. The Boston Bruins first round draft selection has begun his OHL campaign with a 6-3-1-0 record, a 2.26 goals against average and a .926 save percentage in ten games.

After being the first round selection of the Vancouver Canucks this past spring, Bulls captain Brendan Gaunce has led by example in the early going this year. Apart from providing four goals and five assists in his first eleven games, Gaunce played a large role in leading the Bulls' penalty kill to a first placed ranking with a 91.4% efficiency rate, five percentage points ahead of the second placed Saginaw Spirit.

For the first time in it's history, the Subway Super Series ended in a tie last season, with the OHL taking both games over the Russians before they came back to defeat the QMJHL twice and split with the WHL resulting in a 3-3 tie. Team OHL holds is undefeated all-time in the series, with a record of 18-0-0 while outscoring the Russians 88-35. The CHL is an all-time 41-9-4.

Gaunce and Subban will represent the OHL on the 8th of November while the Bulls have games on the 9th (at Kingston), 10th (vs. Saginaw) and 11th (at Ottawa).



Jordan Binnington (Owen Sound)

Jake Paterson (Saginaw)

Malcolm Subban (Belleville)


Alex Basso (Sarnia)

Cody Ceci (Ottawa)

Frank Corrado (Sudbury)

Dylan DeMelo (Mississauga)

Matt Finn (Guelph)

Dougie Hamilton (Niagara)

Scott Harrington (London)

Slater Koekkoek (Peterborough)

Ryan Murphy (Kitchener)

Adam Pelech (Erie)

Stuart Percy (Mississauga)


Anthony Camara (Barrie)

Daniel Catenacci (Owen Sound)

Max Domi (London)

Brendan Gaunce (Belleville)

Barclay Goodrow (Brampton)

Tyler Graovac (Ottawa)

Seth Griffith (London)

Boone Jenner (Oshawa)

Scott Laughton (Oshawa)

Josh Leivo (Sudbury)

Lucas Lessio (Oshawa)

Zack Mitchell (Guelph)

Sean Monahan (Ottawa)

Matt Puempel (Kitchener)

Brett Ritchie (Niagara)

Ryan Rupert (London)

Kerby Rychel (Windsor)

Mark Scheifele (Barrie)

Ryan Strome (Niagara)

Tom Wilson (Plymouth)

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Steve Spott (Kitchener)

Assistant Coach: Scott Walker (Guelph)

Assistant Coach: Jacques Beaulieu (Sarnia)